In light of the significant impact Covid-19 continues to have worldwide, AURORA is announcing new initiatives to create more opportunities and resources for Dallas’s artistic community and general public. These plans include a foundational transition from a large-scale biennial event to an organization with year-round socially-distanced immersive experiences, digital initiatives and educational programming, and the launch of an emergency artist relief fund.

This new format will bring the artistic community of Dallas together with a wider international audience in new and different ways, marking a major growth point for the organization as it enters its tenth anniversary year. Furthering AURORA’s emphasis on the North Texas community, the 2020–2021 program will not only grant participating artists a more significant platform for presenting their work, but it will also allow for a deeper, more enriched engagement with the North Texas community and expand AURORA’s audience on a global scale.

In the lead-up to AURORA 2020, be sure to subscribe to our newsletter, where we announce all AURORA-related news and volunteer opportunities, and follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter for the latest information.

Founding Media Sponsor: The Dallas Morning News

AURORA is a public art and cultural mission to expand the future of art through a dialogue that engages the creative possibilities within ourselves and each other.

AURORA would like to thank the following Foundations and individuals for their continued support:
Lydia and Bill Addy, Beth and Peter Beck, Nancy and Randy Best,  Barbara and Mason Brown, Christie and Trey Brown, Lucilo Pena and Lee Cobb,  Emily and David Corrigan, Catherine Corrigan, David B. Deniger, Claire Dewar, Bill and Rusty Duvall, TurningPoint Foundation, Hartland & Mackie Family Foundation, Fanchon and Howard Hallam, Cinda and Thomas Hicks,  Mary Jalonick, Nancy and Mike Kerr, Carol and John Levy, Sarah and Alan Losinger, Vicki and Brian Miller,  Susan and Bill Montgomery, Jay and Ruthie Pack, Cindy and Howard Rachofsky, Cynthia and Charley Redden, Stacey and Gerald Ridgeley, Deedie Rose, Catherine and Will Rose,  Stephanie and Mark Ruibal and Nicole and Justin Small.

Refik Anadol's 'Melting Memories', AURORA 2018 @ Dallas City Hall. Photo by Paperlyte


AURORA’s 2020–2021 curator Noam Segal is based in Brooklyn, New York, and was raised in Israel. She is an independent curator and writer who received her Ph.D. in the Hermeneutics and Culture department at Bar Ilan University (Tel Aviv) after completing an MA in philosophy and BA in philosophy and political science. Focused on contextualizing and supporting artists to produce new media and performance works, her curatorial practice has led her to work with numerous artists, museums and non-profits around the world. She's presented the work of artists such as Neïl Beloufa, Pope.L, Sharon Hayes, Anri Sala, Ulla Von Brandenburg and Pauline Boudry and Renate Lorenz at prestigious international biennials and institutions, including the Palais de Tokyo (Paris), Brooklyn Academy of Music (BAM), MOCO (Montepellier, France), Performa (NYC), Museum of Contemporary Photography Chicago and Tel Aviv Museum of Art, among others.

Segal is a visiting scholar in the department of performance studies at NYU's Tisch School of the Arts and is also a faculty member of the MFA program at Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design (Jerusalem) and a visiting faculty member of the MFA program in the department of painting and printmaking at Virginia Commonwealth University.


 Tamara Johnson and Trey Burns are AURORA’s 2020–2021 Associate Curators. Working together with Curator Noam Segal, they will support the realisation of our shift to socially-distanced, year-round programming.

In 2018, Johnson and Burns co-founded Sweet Pass Sculpture Park, an outdoor exhibition space on a one-acre plot of land in West Dallas. Since opening, they have worked with over 100 local and international artists, students from universities in the Dallas–Fort Worth area, and various organizations and institutions, like the Dallas Boys & Girls Club, the Nasher Sculpture Center, the Dallas Museum of Art, and North Park Center.

Johnson, who received her MFA from the Rhode Island School of Design, is currently a visiting lecturer in sculpture at the Southern Methodist University and Burns received his MFA from the Savannah College of Art & Design. Before moving to Dallas, they both lived and worked in New York. Most recently, they have been awarded a micro-grant from the Nasher Sculpture center and a National Endowment for the Arts grant in conjunction with Wassiac Projects to continue their work with Sweet Pass.

Photo courtesy of Nan Coulter